Detox and Cleanse

It’s a new year and “a new you”, or at least time to work on one.

With all the resolutions you make at the beginning of the year how about doing a quick thing for your health?

Over the last year, and especially at Christmas and New Year’s Eve, we (and I say we cuz I did get down) have eaten a vast amount of food –some good but others not so good for us. With all the bad that we have consumed, why not help our bodies expel some of that bad just to rejuvenate our insides and kick start the year?

I try to start very year with a detox and cleanse and do one after every prolonged period of bad eating habits.

I do a colon cleanse first and then follow up with a liver detox. Both help two vital organs of the body to keep performing at their best. Antioxidants that are consumed in drink last a little longer in the body than other methods resulting in more time for them to kick ass. The good thing about the liver detox is that it can be done very frequently. The colon cleanse should be limited to a few times a year only.

*NB I am currently 128lbs and the measurements are to my weight and built. Also ensure you have a day or two off work before you do this.

  • For the colon cleanse I take 5 teaspoons of Epsom salt and dissolve it in a small amount of warm water.
  • Once cooled, I add it to juice about a glass of juice to mask the taste and consume right before bed.
  • In about 3-5 hours, the magic should start happening J

 

For the liver cleanse all you need are a few ingredients and you are good to go. I had reservations about the taste until I actually tasted it, and you can tweak it to your liking (It can be had hot or cold).

  • Place 1 tsp of turmeric powder in a cup
  • Add 3 tsps of lemon/lime juice
  • Add 3 tsps of honey (I use less)
  • Add water and mix well
  • Stir while consuming because turmeric will settle to the bottom of the cup.

I usually follow this up with a change in my diet where I consume lots of vegetables and drink detox water then slowly transition back into consuming meat. I say slowly because after eating veges only for a while, I get cravings for meat but feel sick the moment I bite into a big piece of juicy *insert meat here*

If you’d like to know what I use in my detox water and the effects, comment and let me know.

Go ahead! Share your thoughts! I'd love to know what you think!

