What does it really mean to be healthy?

I recently had a check up done by a doctor.

After checking all my vitals and urine sample et al. he said to me. “Wow, you are very healthy. Keep doing what you are doing.”

It was after this that he asked “Do you exercise?” the answer to which was “no”….going against his advice, I will not be keeping that up.

But despite all that my tests results show, I don’t feel healthy.

Not physically.

Not mentally.

What is health? What does good health mean? Medical …
  1. Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.”     The Definition has not been amended since 1948. Sep 26, 2014

That is the definition that I will be working with.

This therefore means that Dr. Good looking-married man-with the Latin surname-dishing out complements made a wrong diagnosis. I don’t feel completely physically fine. I certainly don’t feel completely mentally fine and my social well-being…what is that?

Well, according to what Yahoo Answers says, my social well-being is not in a state of completeness.

You know how they say the mind has a lot to do with the physical? Well its true. When I say I am going to have a good/great day, it doesn’t mean everything is going to go right but I have noticed that my day is/was a good one. Same goes for when I say they day s going to be horrible. I have been trying to see if this principle transcends into the realm of health – no verdict in as yet.

Dude! Did you notice the definition above makes no mention of spiritual well-being? Why doesn’t it? (I actually want an answer to this question) And don’t tell me it was in an effort to remain neutral and to not offend. The number of people who believe in a higher being or power greatly outnumbers that of those who do not. And (partially) as such, I believe it is important and should be included in the definition. It strikes a balance in all aspects of things that makes one feel at peace in and with one’s self.

But my intention is not to debate a definition (Still answer my question, though!). I just wanted to state that I am not healthy. I don’t feel healthy even though I may look it. The part that is worse than knowing you are not healthy is really feeling like there is nothing you can do in all unhealthy parts of your life to make everything a-ok again.

How did I get here? How did I just let myself go like this? I’ve always felt that these are questions overweight people ask themselves and here I am battling with them too.

What is good healthy to you and do you think you have it?

 

 

Official Footer

Go ahead! Share your thoughts! I'd love to know what you think!

