Day 4: Best Childhood Memory

My best childhood memory has to be something with my favourite cousin in it. It’s not like I have a lot of memories from childhood that I can look back on and say “Wow! That was great. Wish I had those days back.”

My favourite cousin and I have quite a few memories together but for me the best one would have to be this very simply one:

I can remember when we were little kids, especially as it drew closer to Christmas time, we would lay on our backs on the veranda, with our heads hanging over the step. We would stare up into the sky at the beautiful white clouds and let our imaginations form images in those clouds. Whatever one saw, we would point out to the other and say that is what we would get for Christmas from grandma (Mama).  

At the time, our grandmother lived in Canada and usually spent Christmases in Jamaica. Christmas with grandma was always an exciting time for us. Christmases haven’t quite been the same for me since he (my cousin) migrated. We were two peas in a pod. My parie, dupes, everything. Miss him lots and hope to see him soon. We are still close even though he is now a billion miles away and he is still my favourite cousin.

Go ahead! Share your thoughts! I'd love to know what you think!

