Dreams

I don’t dream much. On the rare occasions that I do, it’s always something unusual or just downright weird (like when the minions tried to kill me). Last night I had a series of dreams, 3 of which I remember.

Dream #1: I was taking the garbage out (this must be my future life because that isn’t how it works here in the country) and as I stepped out of the gate, I was startled by a car parked right by my wall. Up from the car sprung an ex-boyfriend of mine who said ‘Stay away from my house’. I replied ‘Excuse me? Who goes to your house?’ To which he replied ‘Well my mom says she has seen you pass the house and she doesn’t like it.’ He then drove off.

There are two problems with this dream. First of all I do not go to that guy’s house and he lives by the main road so travelling to most places out of town would mean passing his house. Secondly, this dream bothered me because I have been seeing way too much of him lately which means he has resurfaced. I have nothing to do with him but if I have learnt anything, it is that he is dangerous and sly.

Dream #2: I ran into a group of friends at a quick diner place (surprisingly every face was that of a stranger but they were friends in my dream). They had a table spread with food. So much food that the table could hardly be seen. So much food that to me the food seemed bigger in size than some of them were. I knew why they were there and I commented on it and it got them all upset. They were eating to save lives. You know, the same way groups have walks to raise breast cancer awareness; they were eating to save lives. Save whose lives? I am still not sure but they took offense to me asking how this helps.

There’s nothing wrong with food but this was caused by the fact that I went to bed fairly early and woke up hungry in the middle of the night.

Dream#3: I dreamt that I was going down on an escalator in either a train station or an airport and ran into two nerds and old friends of mine, Jason and Darren. Jason greeted me by saying ‘Hey its been a while, and look who I kept safe for you.’ He said this while holding on to Darren’s shoulders while presenting him to me like a gift. All Darren did was smile, the same nervous smile he always had since high school.

            The problem with this dream is that:

  • these two guys do not know each other
  • Jason and I aren’t that close friends anyway
  • I have not thought about Darren since 2009.

Darren is a guys I met in 6th form. He was my favourite nerd. I will not go into details about why but I liked Darren. The last I heard about him was that he had been accepted into several top Universities abroad and received a full scholarship from Yale. I don’t know which he chose but I am pretty sure he is no longer in Jamaica. After pondering this dream a bit, I realized something I had never admitted to myself or anyone else. I had a crush on Darren in 6th form. I wonder if he remembers that he promised me a massage.

I know that several things can contribute to the content and types of dreams we have. Looking at dreams I have had since childhood to now, these are some things that Woman’s Day Magazine and other sources say may have contributed to my dreams:

  • Sounds
  • Smells
  • Going to bed hungry/ waking up hungry in the middle of the night
  • Suppressed memories
  • Passing images
  • Desires
Go ahead! Share your thoughts! I'd love to know what you think!

