Isn’t he also required to work….?

While browsing through a Bajan newspaper that was a few days old, I stumbled upon a Relationship Responsibility 101 article that in essence advocates the 50/50 rule of responsibility. I was, however, drawn to the bold pop out text below and the picture that was placed above it in the article. image

image

Isn’t he also required to work to ensure that his wife stays interested in him….? THAT! That half of the question and the photograph (particularly the man) had me thinking along a whole different line. This is open for discussion and I would love your responses and takes on the matter!

Follow my thoughts along this route…..what if the two individuals above met each other like that but before they met, one was skimmer and the other was more muscular and fit………..?

On the one hand, many women meet men while they themselves are in one physical state and make changes they deem necessary to keep their partners interested. Similarly, women meet their partners at times when they may not have been ‘physically’ at their best and become determined to let their partner know that that is not who they are.

I find that men, on the other hand, may meet their partners when they are ‘physically’ not at their best but do nothing about it by pulling on the lazy-cards of:

  • If you can’t love me for who I am, then why love me at all?
  • If you met me like that and loved me, why change it?

I am very much aware of the fact that these lazy-cards are drawn on by both genders. I just want to know two things:

  1. Why is so easy to become complacent with one’s appearance once in a relationship?
  2. Would you not do anything about your physical appearance because your partner met and fell in love with you while you were not at your best?
Go ahead! Share your thoughts! I'd love to know what you think!

